Newbie Advice

• Hi all.As a complete newbie I was really hoping someone could give a little advice.A friend mentioned the term DREAMBOX, so I have searched the internet in an attempt to find out what it is, and what it can do.Currently I have no satellite tv, just cable, which costs an arm and a leg.Reading into what the dreambox may be able to do,is it possible to get tv channels from the dreambox, or do i need a satellite dish?.I enjoy computing, but it appears that the dreambox needs to be connected to my pc, is this correct ? What is the card reader for in the dreambox?.I really hope that these questions dont sound to basic , but any info would be appreciated.I would not like to purchase the dreambox , without an understanding of what it can, or cannot do.Many thanks. :grinning_squinting_face: :grinning_squinting_face:

• hi i can answer part of your? dreambox is an advanced fta box. are you from nort america. fta are popular here they can get manny sat. channels. ihave a few & now testing dreambox. very complicated & not much support compared to viewsat. well hopes this help i have cp to db problems goto go.

• Hi caretaker,

the Dream Settopboxes' pupose is to convert digital mpeg2 streams into analog TV signals (PAL, SECAM, etc). It is available as sat-only (DVB-S:7000, 7020), as xor (DVB-T xor DVB-S xor DVB-C(able): 500, soon also 600) or as twin-hybrid (DVB-S/C/T: 7025). Next year, there will be the 8000-HDTV (DVB2-C/T/S: 2 internal tuners + 2 plug'n'play tuners).

As I don't live in the States anymore, I am not sure whether the 500C or 7025CC would work with US cable networks. Simply go ask your cable provider or Dream Mulitmedia TV directly. They have a subsidiary in the States.