Reading and writing to settings file

• Hi, I am new to the world of Enigma2 and python but have a php background.

I have written some basic plugins for Enigma2 which work, but now I am trying to read and write to the settings file: etc/enigma2/settings

The problem I have is that I don't know what the exact name of the value will be so cannot address it using code from other plugins.

I am looking for a way to remove

config.plugins.test.random=false
    config.plugins.test.anotherrandom=false
    config.plugins.test.something=false
    config.plugins.test.different=false

from the settings file, then save a list with similar data back to the settings file.

I understand that I need

config.plugins.test = ConfigSubsection()

but without knowing the actual names of random, another random etc I am very lost of how to do what I am aiming for.

Many thanks n advance
    Woosh

• If you don't now the name you can't read it. You must anyway first define the name of the config element to store any information.

Gruss
    Dre

Boxen (im Einsatz): DM920, DM900, DMOne
    Developer Project Merlin - we are OpenSource

• HI dre, thanks for the reply

Ok, so if I could re-structure my plugin process and knew the name of each entry, how would I loop to read the entires?

list one to see if in settinga:
    icon1
    icon2
    icon3

in settings:
    config.plugins.test.icon1 = pixel

config.plugins.test.icon1 = myicon

config.plugins.test.icon1 = picture

loop code?

Also, what is the contents of config.plugins.test and is it a list?

Thanks again.

Please bear in mind I am a noob

• first you need the ConfigSubsection:

Code

Then you need a ConfigSubList:

Code
    config.plugins.test.icon = ConfigSubList()

It's recommendable to have a config entry holding the length of the ConfigSubList:

Code
    config.plugins.test.count = ConfigInteger(0)

Now, first you need to initialise the config:

And here's how you read it finally:

Code
    count = config.plugins.test.count.value